Speaker Joe Straus appointed House committees this week, and the members of the House Appropriations and Public Education Committees are listed below.  If you have a representative on either of these lists from your school district, you may want to send them a note congratulating them on their appointment and reminding them that you are happy to serve as a resource as they tackle the tough issues before them.


House Committee on Appropriations

Rep. Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie), Chair

Rep. Sylvester Turner (D-Houston), Vice Chair

Rep. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin)

Rep. Cecil Bell (R-Magnolia)

Rep. Greg Bonnen (R-Friendswood)

Rep. Stefani Carter (R-Dallas)

Rep. Myra Crownover (R-Lake Dallas)

Rep. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo)

Rep. Sarah Davis (R-West University Place)

Rep. Dawnna Dukes (D-Austin)

Rep. Helen Giddings (D-Dallas)

Rep. Larry Gonzales (R-Round Rock)

Rep. Donna Howard (D-Austin)

Rep. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola)

Rep. Susan King (R-Abilene)

Rep. Oscar Longoria (D-Mission)

Rep. Marisa Marquez (D-El Paso)

Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon (D-San Antonio)

Rep. Sergio Munoz, Jr. (D-Palmview)

Rep. Rob Orr (R-Burleson)

Rep. John Otto (R-Dayton)

Rep. Diane Patrick (R-Arlington)

Rep. Charles Perry (R-Lubbock)

Rep. Four Price (R-Amarillo)

Rep. John Raney (R-College Station)

Rep. Bennett Ratliff (R-Coppell)

Rep. John Zerwas (R-Simonton)


House Committee on Public Education

Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock (R-Killeen), Chair

Rep. Alma Allen (D-Houston), Vice Chair

Rep. John Davis (R-Houston)

Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont)

Rep. Harold Dutton, Jr. (D-Houston)

Rep. Marsha Farney (R-Georgetown)

Rep. Dan Huberty (R-Humble)

Rep. Ken King (R-Canadian)

Rep. Bennett Ratliff (R-Coppell)

Rep. Justin Rodriguez (D-San Antonio)

Rep. Mike Villarreal (D-San Antonio)


Of the nine members of the Public Education Committee, five are former school board trustees (Aycock, Huberty, King, Ratliff, and Rodriguez) who have all been endorsed by the Parent PAC.  Two others (Allen and Farney) are former members of the State Board of Education and also both former educators.

Full list of committee assignments


Twitter widget by Rimon Habib - BuddyPress Expert Developer